Tags

, , ,

One of Rose’s favorite things in the world is story time at the library. We go twice a week, and it does an awfully good job at saving my sanity. It’s something to do, somewhere to go, and a way to socialize Rose.
Unfortunately, Rose has been sick since late last week. She’s on the mend, but still hasn’t been fever free for long enough to be around other kids, which means I have to find a way to keep from going stir-crazy today, and possibly tomorrow.
So what to do? Thankfully, it’s not raining, which means I can at least take her out to our fenced in backyard to play, but what else? I’m sure we’ll read quite a few books today. And yesterday I made a batch of oobleck to play with. (If you don’t know what it is, it’s based on the Dr. Seuss book Bartholomew and the Oobleck. Do a google search and you can find a recipe) so we’ll probably play with that somewhere.
If I really need to leave the house, I might take her to our little zoo, where there’s plenty of room to avoid other kids.
Next week, I will be more than ready for story time to resume. If you haven’t been to a story time at your local library, I highly recommend that you check it out. I’m not sure that they are all as good as mine, but they definitely support literacy in your rapidly learning child!

