Tags

, , , , , , , ,

P1040143

 

 

Today is Dr. Seuss’ birthday! Happy birthday, Dr. Seuss! In honor of such an auspicious day, I decided to make a list of my top ten Seuss characters. Keep in mind that this is my top ten. I know that you might disagree with some of these. This isn’t the greatest of all time by overall popularity, or the top ten most well known characters, it’s just the characters that are in my top ten. On to the list…

 

 10. The Grinch–Yup, that Grinch.  You might be asking why he’s so low on my list.  I alwayliked the Grinch, but could never like him that much, simply because I’m Jewish and this is a Christmas book.  At the same time, I do kind of identifywith him, since I become very Grinch-like every christmas.

 9. The Cat in the Hat–Again, you probably want to know why the iconic character in the Dr. Seuss cannon is so low on my list.  Let’s be honest, the cat in the hat is kind of a jerk.  He’s that guy that’s always making you feel uncomfortable, making jokes that you aren’t sure are jokes, and then saying, “Nah man, I’m just kidding!”  All the same, I had to include him.
 8. Lazy Bird Mayzie–Let me explain.  Mayzie makes my list because you can just imagine her voice.  She spends a very small amount of time in Horton Hatches the Egg bullying Horton into sitting on her egg while she vacations in Palm Beach, and then wants her kid back when the egg hatches.  Still, that imagined voice just sticks with you.
 7. The goldfish–Yup, I put the dour goldfish from The Cat in the Hat higher on this list than the cat himself.
 6. Sam-I-am–If you want to know more about my feelings toward Sam, check out this post.  Sam, like the Cat, may be a jerk, but at least he’s trying to get someone to try something new.
 5. Mr. Brown–Mr. Brown isn’t that memorable, but he can certainly make a lot of sounds.  I put him on this list because Mr. Brown can Moo.
 4. The Lorax–And here comes the character who has made The Lorax one of the most challenged books in libraries across the United States.  A few of Seuss’ books send political messages, but the Lorax is the most obvious character to represent something more than what he is.  He’s a symbol of what happens when we don’t take care of the environment, and it sends the message to our kids to make a change.
 3. Mack the Turtle–Mack is the turtle who disrupts Yertle’s tower of turtles by burping.  He knocks down a bully of a turtle, and reminds us that we shouldn’t just listen to someone because they’re stronger or more powerful.
 2. Little Cindy Lou Who–I know, I know, I said I couldn’t put the Grinch high on this list because of the Christmas thing.  But here’s the thing, Cindy Lou Who is just so adorable, and so innocent, and she also looks like Rose.  So…
  1. Horton the Elephant–How could Horton not be number one on my list?  He’s loyal, he looks out for the little guy, and he’s forgiving.  He gave us two great quotes: “A person’s a person, no matter how small,” and “An elephant’s faithful, one-hundred percent.”  Horton is a great example to follow, and teaches fantastic lessons to our children.  So Horton, in my book, you’re #1!

