This week marks the ALA’s celebration of those books that have been challenged or banned, and as a major supporter of libraries and freedom of speech, I have always been against banning books.  I believe that if you don’t want your child to read a certain book, make sure they don’t read it, but don’t stop other kids from having the opportunity to read a great book.

So this week I’m going to be highlighting one childrens book a day that has been challenged or banned at some point in its existence, starting with:

James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl

I can remember reading this book in elementary school and immediately being taken with the crazy bugs grown to giant proportions, and their amazing journey across the ocean.  Roald Dahl holds a special place in my childhood, but first and foremost of all of his books is James and the Giant Peach.

