Tags

, , ,

I do my best to find the time to read for myself on a regular basis.  It is, after all, one of my favorite things to do, and if I don’t find time to read real books I start to go a little bit crazy.

So it was with quite a bit of excitement that I started reading Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.  One of my friends had told me about this book a few months ago, and I finally had a copy land in my lap and had enough time to read, and I pretty much sped through the book in just a few days.

The novel follows Wade, a teenager on the verge of graduating from his virtual high school in the year 2044.  Wade lives in a dystopic nightmare of a world where poverty, hunger, and war have taken over almost every aspect of the planet except for one: the OASIS.  The OASIS is a virtual reality playground, a far more advanced computer system than anything we have right now—the ultimate video game.  When the creator of the OASIS dies, he leaves behind a game to decide who will inherit his billions.  The first person to complete his quest will win, and Wade is just one of the millions who are competing.

Ready Player One is a nerd’s dream come true of a novel.  The number of references to video games, movies, and music of the 80s is quite staggering, and if you grew up in that era, you will really appreciate those references.  The story is fast-paced and exciting, and I never really knew what was coming next.

Cline is definitely quite the world-builder: he does a great job of describing a society that has collapsed in on itself.  Unfortunately, at times he does that to his own detriment.  He spends so much time showing the reader how well he has thought out his world that the descriptions become tedious as you wait for the next bit of action to start up.

Other than that, I would recommend Ready Player One to any nerd or child of the eighties looking for a fun, quick read.  Besides, I hear that Hollywood is turning it into a movie, so you better get on the bandwagon now!

