Tags

, ,

One of the aspects of reading with Rose that I didn’t anticipate is the number of books that she would try to eat.  Of course, when we went to our pediatrician’s office early on I saw the posters talking about how one of the things that babies would do with books would be to bring them to their mouths, but the reality was far more eating than I anticipated.  As we would be reading a book, she would pull the book to her mouth, and try to chew on it.  I didn’t really mind, but I was kind of concerned that she might actually get a piece of the book in her mouth and choke on it, so I had to try really hard not to let her chew the books.  Of course, this didn’t stop her from eating off part of Pat The Bunny.

If you’ve read this book, you know what it took Rose to eat this part.

But what to do?  She clearly wanted the books in her mouth, and I didn’t want to discourage her from using all of her senses to discover books, but I also wanted to keep her safe.

As it turns out, there is a great option for just this conundrum called Indestructibles. These books are made for those babies that still have an obsession with putting everything in their mouths.  They are “water-proof, tear-resistant, and baby-durable,” and Rose just loved them.  You can even wash them in the washing machine if they get dirty!  We were lucky enough to get a set of them as a gift from a librarian friend who saw them at a convention, but you can buy them in many stores, or online at http://www.indestructiblesinc.com/.

As it turned out, Rose eventually got over her obsession with eating books, at least for the most part, until one day I gave her a book to keep her busy in her car seat, and when I went to get her out, I found this:

So…I guess she got some extra fiber in her diet?

Who else has had a book eater, and what was your take on your baby’s addition to their diet?

